FFF19 The Trouble with You

CTC 107 mins

About the film

Director: Pierre Salvadori
Actors: Adèle Haenel, Pio Marmaï, Audrey Tautou, Damien Bonnard, Vincent Elbaz
One of the biggest audience hits of Cannes 2018 (where it premiered as the centerpiece of the Directors’ Fortnight section), this sparkling new screwball comedy from French cinema’s master of the genre Pierre Salvadori (Wild Target, Après Vous, Priceless) is an irresistible mix of laughs, action and romance.
Set on the French Riviera, the wonderful Adèle Haenel (The Unknown Girl, BPM) plays detective Yvonne, the principled young widow of the local police chief who was killed in the line of duty. Each night she puts their young son to sleep with tales of his daring and bravery, so naturally Yvonne is horrified to learn that her husband was not the embodiment of virtue as she had been led to believe, but rather that an innocent man, Antoine (Pio Marmaï), has spent eight years falsely imprisoned as a result of his corruption.
Yvonne decides to do everything she can to help return the hapless parolee to his regular life and devoted fiancé (a delightful, scene-stealing Audrey Tautou). Unfortunately, Antoine has trouble adjusting back to society, and soon blows a fuse that leads to an hilarious trail of destruction, where moral, social and romantic obligations are put to the test in a spectacular way.
A resounding critical and box office success in France, The Trouble With You is a rollicking, outrageously funny ride with a bit of a wild side. Strap yourself in before boarding!

French with English subtitles

Show Times

Thu Mar 21
Sun Mar 24
Wed Mar 27
Sun Mar 31
Mon Apr 1
Sat Apr 6
Tue Apr 9
Wed Apr 10
Sun Apr 14
Wed Apr 17

Festival Highlights